Microsoft Virtual CD Rom

I needed a quick way to read an ISO image at work today that 7zip couldn’t extract properly. Normally at home I’d just mount it in Daemon Tools and be on my way but that idea doesn’t sound the best for the work place due to the free version of Daemon Tools containing adware. After some searching I ran across a Microsoft Developed Virtual CD driver and interface. It’s very basic but it let me open the Visual Studio 2008 iso I downloaded from MSDN without any hickups or needing to reboot to install the driver..

http://download.microsoft.com/download/7/b/6/7b6abd84-7841-4978-96f5-bd58df02efa2/winxpvirtualcdcontrolpanel_21.exe

Leave a Reply

