Flash CS4 Publish to Gif file sucks

So today I had to convert a swf flash movie I made for an advertisement to an animated gif file so it could be added to an email newsletter and when I’d publish it using Flash CS4 it was just epic… fail. The fading/transparency effects would flicker massively, shift between colors that didn’t even exist in the movie then when text would appear it just turned into a giant blob of black smear in my image.

How very useful…. NOT.

Luckily I found a program that just saved my day E.M. Magic Swf2Gif I also tried a similar product from Aleosoft, Aleo SWF GIF Converter. I’m not sure if this was related to the fact the Aleosoft is a limited functionality trial (watermarks output images) but the resulting quality was substantially lower than E.M. Magic Swf2Gif. So if anyone else has issues with their Flash CS4 Gif publishing looking horrible I recommend taking a look at E.M. Magic Swf2Gif.

3 thoughts on “Flash CS4 Publish to Gif file sucks

  1. I just wanted to say thank you! I could never get gif’s to publish well in flash and E.M. Magic Swf2Gif worked perfectly. You are a life saver!

Leave a Reply

